Academic Achievement Award

TitleI Academic Award LogoThe Title I Academic Achievement Award Program, reauthorized by the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act, has been operating since 1984. It was designed to identify and to recognize those Title I schools with demonstrated success in ensuring that all students make significant progress toward meeting state academic content standards. Schools eligible to receive the Title I Academic Achievement Award have significantly closed the achievement gap among the significant subgroups of students enrolled in the schools and have exceeded adequate yearly progress (AYP) for at least two years.

The honored schools have met stringent eligibility criteria according to demographic and assessment data. Inyokern Elementary School earned the Academic Achievement Award on May 27, 2005.

Distinguished School Award

California Distinguished School AwardCA Distinguished School Award Logo

The California School Recognition Program was created in 1985 to publicize and reinforce the priorities of the State Board of Education and the State Superintendent of Public Instruction. The program identifies and honors some of the state's most exemplary and inspiring public schools with the California Distinguished School Award (the award is valid for four years).

Although participation is voluntary, the award is highly sought after by schools in all areas of the state. Approximately five percent of California's public schools are selected each year, and no fewer than 40 counties are typically represented. Inyokern Elementary School earned the California Distinguished School Award on May 21, 2004.

In order to be invited to apply for Distinguished School honors, schools must meet a variety of eligibility criteria including designated federal and state accountability measures based on No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) and the Academic Performance Index (API) requirements.

Applications are evaluated by teams of local educators from across the state under the direction of the CDE. Evaluators use a four-level rubric that describes progress toward achieving each of the selection criteria. The highest-scoring schools are selected as statewide nominees. The statewide nominees receive a site visit to validate the accuracy of the information presented in their applications. The site visits are conducted as a collaborative effort between the CDE and the county superintendents of schools.

National Blue Ribbon Award
National Blue Ribbon School Award LogoTwo hundred and ninety-five schools in the nation were named No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools for 2005, U.S. Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings announced today. In recognition of the progress these schools have made under No Child Left Behind, each school will receive an award certificate as part of the Blue Ribbon Schools program.
"The achievement gap is closing and that is great news for every student," Spellings said. "These Blue Ribbon Schools are an example of what teachers and students can achieve. For the first time, we are insisting on results and accountability in return for our federal investment in education. In the three-plus years since No Child Left Behind was signed into law, we've learned a new equation: 'Accountability plus high expectations plus resources equals results.'"

The No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools program recognizes schools that make significant progress in closing the achievement gap or whose students achieve at very high levels. The schools are selected based on one of three criteria:

1. Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance on state tests.

2. Schools whose students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests.

3. Private schools that achieve in the top 10 percent in the nation.

Under No Child Left Behind, schools must make Adequate Yearly Progress, or AYP, in reading and language arts and mathematics. Each state—not the federal government—sets its own academic standards and benchmark goals, because each state knows best what goals and criteria are most appropriate for its school districts.

Inyokern Elementary School earned the National Blue Ribbon Award on November 11, 2005. A list of all 295 No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools for 2005 is available at For more information about the Blue Ribbon Schools program, visit
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.